The Board of Trustees of the UKE

The Board of Trustees advises the Executive Board and supervises the Management which was appointed by the Executive Board. The Executive Board can be demanded by the Board of Trustees to present all books and records. The Board of Trustees can audit and inspect them on site. Alternatively, the Board of Trustees can entrust individual members to do so or have special experts perform certain tasks. Furthermore, the Board of Trustees controls the implementation of the UKE’s operational goal, cooperation with the Medical Faculty and guarantee of the research and teaching included.The meetings are held in camera four times a year.

Further information on the scope of duties or the composition of the Board of Trustees may be learnt from the Law for the establishment of the public corporation "University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf" and the regulation concerning the articles of association of the University Medical Center Hamburg-Eppendorf (UKE) – public body.

Katharina Fegebank (Chairwoman)
Second Mayor and Senator in the Authority of Science, Research and Equality

Mr. Prof. Dr. Dieter Lenzen (Deputy Chairman)
President of the University of Hamburg

Mrs. Sabine Hase
Staff council for non-scientific staff

Mr. Prof. Dr. Thomas Dobner
Scientific Director Heinrich-Pette-Instituts, Leibniz Institute for Experimental Virology

Mrs. Julia Jäkel
Chief Executive Officer
Gruner + Jahr GmbH & Co. KG

Mrs. Birgit Kirschstein
Staff council for non-scientific staff

Mr. Prof. Dr. Ansgar W. Lohse
Chief of the I. Medical Clinic and Polyclinic
Center for Internal Medicine, UKE

Mrs. Petra Müller
Group council chairwoman

Mrs. Dr. Ingrid Nümann-Seidewinkel
Senator retired

Mrs. Dr. Sibylle Roggencamp
Head of Asset and Portfolio Management in the Fiscal Authority of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg

Mr. Prof. Dr. Jürgen Schölmerich
Chief executive and Medical Director
University Hospital Frankfurt Goethe University

Mr. Michael Schüler
Chairman of the Staff council for non-scientific staff